







CALL FOR PAPERS

SUBMISSION DEADLINE: 31 May 2019

Deutsche Bundesbank – IWH – ECONtribute – CEPR conference on

Financial Intermediation in a Globalized World

to be held at the Deutsche Bundesbank (City Office) Taunusanlage 5, Frankfurt am Main, Germany,

on 24-25 October 2019

The organizing committee invites submissions of high-quality theoretical or empirical research papers on financial intermediation. The conference calls for papers especially covering topics on financial intermediation and regulation, including (but not limited to)

- Integration vs. fragmentation of banking systems
- · Multinational banks and firms
- Financial intermediation, innovation and FinTech
- Trade finance and shadow banking activities
- Maturity transformation and liquidity creation
- · Risk-taking and asset/liability management
- Micro- and macro-prudential regulation
- · Bank supervision and resolution
- Evaluation of regulatory policies for banks
- Systemic risk, spillovers and economic stability

The conference will feature plenary sessions with keynote speeches by Allen N. Berger (University of South Carolina, Wharton Financial Institutions Center, and European Banking Center) and Linda S. Goldberg (Federal Reserve Bank of New York and NBER) and a dinner speech by Joachim Wuermeling (Member of the Executive Board of the Deutsche Bundesbank).

Please submit your paper via email to <u>banking-research@bundesbank.de</u> with reference to "*Financial Intermediation in a Globalized World*". Economy class travel expenses and accommodation (both subject to price limits) will be covered for invited speakers and discussants.

The conference is sponsored jointly by the Deutsche Bundesbank, the IWH Halle Institute for Economic Research, the Cluster of Excellence ECONtribute funded by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) under Germany's Excellence Strategy – EXC-2326/1 – 390838866, and the Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR).

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE:

Daniel Foos (Deutsche Bundesbank)
Björn Imbierowicz (Deutsche Bundesbank)
Thomas Kick (Deutsche Bundesbank)

Michael Koetter (IWH & University of Magdeburg) Isabel Schnabel (ECONtribute & University of Bonn)

SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE:

Thorsten Beck
Christa Bouwman
Martin Brown
Elena Carletti
Yuliya Demyanyk
Mariassunta Giannetti

Reint Gropp Rainer Haselmann Neeltje van Horen Vasso Ioannidou Steven Ongena José-Luis Peydró Manju Puri

Anthony Saunders
Sascha Steffen